Pretty meh in terms of health, but caught up with friends and family, found some new interests, and kept plugging on.

  • ๐Ÿ˜ท Got COVID for the first time at the end of March. The effects carried on for a couple months. I wrote about it on the 25th April, headaches carried on for another month after that - almost like I was always hungover. I’ve finally kicked it… though…
  • ๐Ÿฉผ My knees have been playing up. All the running with not enough body maintenance has finally caught up. I’ve been seeing the physio, been given exercises, and have just started to run again with some promising results.
  • ๐Ÿƒโ€โ™‚๏ธ With COVID and shyte knees, my running took a back seat. Half way through the year, it’s looking like my streak might take a hit. That’s ok. This is my recorded stats since 2010: 2016 was a fractured foot. 2019 was when I moved to New Zealand, closer to the mountains, and when I started going a bit bonkers with vert.
  • ๐Ÿ‘จโ€๐Ÿ‘ฉโ€๐Ÿ‘งโ€๐Ÿ‘ฆ After Dad and Ruth’s visit, Soph and the fam came. That was fun.
  • ๐Ÿป Adz and Lou visited for their 10-year wedding anniversary. Perks of living in a holiday destination!
  • ๐Ÿ’ฒ My Allocate Smartly trading system made 2.06% for the quarter, and a 7.77% annualised return to date. Been running 11 months now. I’ll contemplate the continuation of this. 12-month term deposit rates are currently around 5.9%, which is below what I’m making but I’m carrying risk. Here’s my accumulated equity curve (Hatch) tracked against the SPX and AS system I use.
  • ๐ŸŒฑ In the garden, as winter approached, I planted garlic (May 18) and broad beans, composted all the summer crops, mulched. Pruned the fruit trees the week of shortest day.
  • ๐Ÿ’ป I found the fediverse and created a blog and website. I attribute this to my COVID and injury which freed up 10-20 hours a week of what would normally be running. I do this… switch to nerd-mode when I can’t run. I am having a blast, reminded of the fun I had back around 2000 when I tinkered with websites and mIRC scripts, even if I’ve tried and failed a few setups. I have found a community of very creative and positive people whom fill my RSS feed with joy. RSS is new to me too. I think I missed the worst of social media, being off Facebook and Instagram for a few years, and completely missing Twitter. Mastodon has been my new social and fedi-gateway.
  • ๐Ÿ  Prepared my spare room for Airbnb. My housemate left, so I have decided to give Airbnb a go. I swapped the study for the spare room so the room will be more private at the front of the house. Part of the prep was installing shelving in the wardrobe. Was fun getting out the circular saw again. I’m almost ready to advertise, just waiting on a lockbox to be delivered and need to do some minor prep work.
  • ๐Ÿ“š Read a lot of Junited posts. Really appreciate @birming@mastodon.world for kicking this off. I gave it a stab but dwindled off towards the end of the month. I picked a theme of location/places, which I found a little hard to maintain. Still, the posts I found were great reads.
  • ๐Ÿ“š Read Data Grab by Ulises A. Mejias and Nick Couldry โญโญโญ
  • ๐Ÿ“š Read The Daily Stoic by Ryan Holiday โญโญโญ
  • ๐Ÿ“š Read Cuddy by Benjamin Myers โญโญโญ
  • ๐Ÿ“บ Watched a couple of screenings at the International Permaculture Festival of Ideas. Inspiring stuff.
  • ๐Ÿ“บ Watched The Bear (Season 2) โญโญโญโญโญ Amazing show. Sheesh its intense.

#PlanAndReflect #QuarterlyReview